UEFA Names Six Clubs To Get Banned From Champions League, Europa League

The Union of European Football Associations, UEFA has listed six clubs to face a ban over breach of financial fair play regulation.

Naija News understands that the football governing body had fined eight clubs including FC Porto and Sporting Lisbon over alleged debts.

Insisting on the club’s penalties for non-compliance, UEFA threatened six clubs with exclusion from European competitions.

According to the body, the clubs are found guilty of violating UEFA’s Financial Fair Play regulations, due to their “non-compliance with the ‘no overdue payables’ requirement”.

Naija News understands that the punishment was handed to the mentioned clubs by UEFA’s newly-established ‘First Chamber of Club Financial Control Body.

The clubs affected are Astana (Kazakhstan), CFR Cluj (Romania), CSKA Sofia (Bulgaria), Mons Calpe (Gibraltar), Real Betis (Spain) and Clube Desportivo Santa Clara (Portugal).

As well as the fines, six of the teams will be banned from the next European competition they qualify for if the debts are not settled by January 31, 2022.

However, Astana and CFR Cluj will not serve the additional sanction hanging over them.

Meanwhile, Sporting have already qualified for this season’s Champions League knockout stage, while Porto will progress if they beat Atletico Madrid next week.

In another news, La Liga giants, FC Barcelona are reportedly open to letting go of three first-team players to raise more funds to shop for quality players, Naija News understands.

The Spanish club is understood to be facing some financial constraints and the new manager, Xavi Hernandez, is keen on bringing in top-class footballers to help the Catalans maintain good stand.

According to Cadena SER, Barca wants to sell the likes of Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Frenkie de Jong and Ronald Araujo.

This article was originally published on Naija News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email