Jose Mourinho makes history as Afena Gyan wins UEFA Conference League

Jose Mourinho has made a significant history with his AS Roma side after winning the maiden UEFA Conference League. Roma piped Dutch side Feyenoord by a lone goal to win the trophy.

The Portuguese trainer is the first coach to win the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and the new UEFA Conference League.

He won the UEFA Champions league with FC Porto in 2004 and with Inter Milan in 2010. Jose also went on to win the UEFA Europa League with Manchester United in 2017. The controversial figure in club football also won the 2003 UEFA Cup with Porto.

Jose Mourinho has failed to win the UEFA Super Cup on three occasions with Porto, Chelsea and Manchester United respectively.

He made his club records more solid today after guiding his Roma side to win the UEFA Conference League. Nicolo Zaniolo scored the only goal in the match. The goal came on the 32nd minute.

This would be Mourinho’s 28th major trophy as a coach. He joined Roma in July, 2021.

Ghanaian striker Felix Afena-Gyan who plays for Roma was an unused substitute in the match. He becomes the first Ghanaian to win the maiden UEFA Conference League.


AS Roma placed 6th on the just ended Italian Serie A and they have qualified for the Europa League.

The post Jose Mourinho makes history as Afena Gyan wins UEFA Conference League appeared first on GhanaManSports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Generated by Feedzy
Follow by Email