Inside iconic former Premier League ground home to infamous Man Utd blunder that’s now a housing estate
AN ICONIC former Premier League ground has been converted into a housing estate – and Manchester United will be delighted to see it gone.
The Red Devils endured a tricky time at this old stadium on the south coast.
AlamyThis is the site of a former Premier League stadium[/caption]
AlamyThe road name is the same as the name of the old ground[/caption]
GettyManchester United were famously stuffed 3-1 wearing the grey kit there[/caption]
That included the infamous ‘grey shirts saga’ in April 1996 where Sir Alex Ferguson’s side found themselves 3-0 down at half-time and changed out of their dull jerseys.
Incredibly, just six months later, they were stuffed 6-3 at the same place which led many United supporters to be convinced the ground was jinxed for them.
But just five years after that double whammy, United knew they would never need to go back to the stadium – because the Premier League club moved to a £32million, 32,000-seater new home.
The club in question is Southampton and their former ground The Dell.
First opened in 1989, it became the first stadium with permanent floodlights in 1950 and was famous for its ‘wedge’ triangular Milton Road Stand.
Club icon Matt Le Tissier scored Saints’ final goal at the ground, fittingly a fine volley to beat Arsenal 3-2 – before fans took home seats and sections of the advertising hoardings.
These days, though, The Dell is a residential development – with the road given the same name.
Brilliantly, the various blocks of the property are named after Southampton legends including Le Tiss, Bobby Stokes, Ted Bates, Danny Wallace and Mick Channon.
CASINO SPECIAL – BEST CASINO WELCOME OFFERS
The flats are 1.5 miles away from Southampton’s current home – St Mary’s – on the banks of the River Itchen.
But St Mary’s will be a Championship stadium next season following Saints’ relegation from the Premier League.
AlamyThe blocks are named after various Southampton legends[/caption]
PA:Press AssociationThe stadium opened in 1898 and had floodlights installed in 1950[/caption]
News Group Newspapers LtdThe last game was played in 2001 and then renovations got underway[/caption]
St Mary’s is just 1.5 miles from the old stadiumSolent News