Former English Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg insists Crystal Palace should have been awarded a penalty for a Daniel Amarety handball in the game against Leicester City.Amartey looked to have handled the ball when he went in for a header with Christian Benteke in the second half, but VAR checks revealed the claim was not strong enough to be adjudged a penalty.Amartey lasted the entire duration as Harvey Barnes scored late to deny Palace victory after an early second-half goal from Wilfried Zaha.Its a really interesting one because you can understand how the referee has missed it initially,” he told Talk Sports.But Crystal Palace will be feeling really disappointed because when the ball comes in, Benteke jumps in with Amartey. Amarteys hand is out but its actually [Cheikhou] Kouyate who appeals.Therefore the VAR [Robert Jones] should have automatically checked because the balls out of play.But from the camera behind the goal I thought is that a potential penalty for handball? So therefore the VAR should have checked it.He didnt because less than 20 seconds from Benteke heading it over to Kasper Schmeichel taking the goal kick, the ball was back in play so it wasnt checked. There wasnt enough time.I feel he shouldve taken his time and used all the evidence thats available. The camera angle we can see, Amarteys hands are above his shoulder and hes clearly handballed it.