Ballon d’Or 2021: Striker Of The Year Award Goes To Robert Lewandowski

Poland professional footballer, Robert Lewandowski has won this year’s striker of the year award.

Naija News reports that the Bayern Munich player was announced striker of the year at the 2021 Ballon d’Or event on Monday.

The highly anticipated awards ceremony held Monday, November 29, 2021, at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Lewandowski who wins the inaugural Striker of the Year award was a bit emotional while addressing dignitaries and fellow players after he was called up to speak at the event, Naija News understands.

“I’m very proud of this trophy, I know what it means to be ready to score the goal,” the Polish player said.

He added: “Everything I do I have to thank my teammates, coach and staff. Without them it’s difficult to be at the front.”

Lewandowski has scored 38 goals in 30 league games in 2021 and has scored a goal every 66 minutes on average.

Paris Saint Germain player, Lionel Messi who is also eyeing this year’s Ballon d’Or award alongside Lewandowski and Real Madrid Karim Benzema, has scored 24 goals in 28 league games this year and led Argentina to the Copa America in the summer.

Other notable contenders in this year’s award include Chelsea’s pair of Jorginho and N’Golo Kante, Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema and Mohammed Salah of Liverpool.

Organizers of the Ballon d’Or event had confirmed the final top ten players contending the prestigious award. The order in which they finish will be confirmed during the ceremony.

The top ten players are:

Lionel Messi

Kevin De Bruyne

Mohamed Salah

Kylian Mbappe

Karim Benzema

N’Golo Kante


Gianluigi Donnaruma

Robert Lewandowski

Cristiano Ronaldo

This article was originally published on Naija News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy
Follow by Email